Tea time treats and sweets

One of my all-time favorite baked goods to eat and make is strawberry scones. Specifically the strawberry scones from the recipe book Tea & Crumpets. I have used this recipe countless times and every time they turn out fabulously! The recipe calls for both self-rising flour and buttermilk that are not ingredients I have at home because I don’t use them frequently. However, there are ways to make your own self-rising and buttermilk at home. For self-rising flour, you simply add 1 ½ teaspoons of baking and ½ teaspoon of salt to every one cup of flour. For buttermilk, you add either one-tablespoon of lemon juice or white vinegar to one cup of milk and let sit for 5-10 minutes, this sours the milk activating the lactic acid bacteria that makes the milk go sour. The rest of the ingredients are ones that I usually have on a day-to-day basis. The recipe is as follows:

  • 3 cups self-rising flour
  • ½ cup sugar
  • ¾ cup unsalted butter, cold and cut into small pieces
  • 1 cup buttermilk
  • 1 large egg, beaten
  • 1 cup sliced strawberries

It is best to use fresh strawberries when making these scones. Since I had to make the sour milk, I made that to start then while letting it sit and sour, I got the rest of my ingredients ready. Once I had everything else measured and ready to go, the soured milk was ready to use. To start, I combined the flour, sugar together then using a pastry cutter, I mixed in the cold butter until it was small pieces. I added the milk and egg in, mixed until a soft dough formed. On a floured counter, I kneaded the sliced strawberries in. This part is by far the messiest part of making the scones. I wanted to take pictures while making these scones but my hands were a mess the whole time. Once the strawberries where kneaded in, I divided the dough in two and flatten each into 1 inch thick disks, placed them on a baking sheet with parchment paper and cut each disk into 6 wedges using a serrated knife. With the oven preheated at 350°F, bake for 25 to 30 minutes or until a skewer inserted into one of the wedges comes out clean, mine took about 27 minutes to bake completely.

IMG_20160302_211308613

Once baked, I like to eat them with a nice cup of tea or coffee and if I have the ingredients, I love eating them with clotted cream that is simply heavy whipping cream and unsalted butter whipped up together. Clotted cream is very fattening but extremely tasty 🙂 I sadly didn’t have whipping cream so I ate mine with just butter which was still very yummy. Warm or cold, they taste delicious.

IMG_20160305_095505965

By Talia

 

Leave a Reply

