Place Your Bets

One of my favorite cakes that I decorated, was a poker themed one I did for a relative’s friend. This is the first cake that I did for someone that I did not personally know, so it had to be better than anything that I’ve ever done before. I had a lot of fun with this cake, since I was able to take a general idea from the client and design it to be my own. I knew I would hit this cake out of the park.

Poker

All the baking and the detail on this cake took me over 12 hours to complete, but it was totally worth it in the end. The poker chips and suits are what took the most time to complete since I did not have any cutters for the suits on the cards so I had to cut them by hand, which was quite a bit of work. I thought that it would be a cool idea to incorporate his name and his age in the cards, so it was specialized just for him. That’s the great thing about custom cakes, each one is different.

My relative later contacted me and told me that this cake was a major hit at the surprise party. It tasted great, plus they were blown away by the overall appearance of the cake. You could say I beat the odds, and won the chips with a royal flush. I hope to see them come to me for more cakes in the future. I’m always up for a new challenge!

Allison Landry

Leave a Reply

