Banana Bread

I got the Duchess cookbook for Christmas and I have been slowly working my way through the recipes. One that I really like is the Hummingbird Loaves recipe.

Here is the Recipe:

  • 300g (2 cups)   All-purpose Flour
  • 200g (1 cup)     Sugar
  • 3/4 tsp                Baking Soda
  • 3/4 tsp                Salt
  • 1/2 tsp                Ground Cinnamon
  • 65g (1/2 cup)    Chopped Pecans
  • 2                          Large Eggs
  • 112g (1/2 cup)  Vegetable Oil
  • 1 tsp                   Vanilla Extract
  • 125g (1/2 cup)  Canned, Crushed Pineapples
  • 2                          Medium Bananas, Mashed

It is a pretty simple recipe and I usually have everything I need on hand. What I did for the crushed pineapple was bought a large can and measured it out into 1/2 cup portions, then put it into ziplock bags. I keep the portions in the freezer and when I am going to make the banana bread I will just take it out of the freezer. It is really convenient. I also substituted the chopped pecans for chocolate chips!

P3190488.jpg

To get started, preheat your oven to 350F. Whisk together the flour, sugar, baking, salt, and ground cinnamon in a large bowl.

P3190491.jpg

In a second bowl combine the eggs, oil, vanilla, pineapple, and mashed banana. Mix well.

P3190495.jpg

Pour the wet ingredients over the dry ingredients and mix until combined with a wooden spoon. Stir in the nuts or chocolate pieces.

P3190497.jpg

The book calls for a mini loaf pan with 6 x 5-by-3 inch cavities, or 2 x 9-by-5 inch loaf pan, greased and floured. I divided the batter equally between the two pans.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Bake the loaves in a preheated oven for 35-45 min (25-30 min, if using the mini-loaf pan) or until golden brown and a toothpick inserted into the loaf comes out clean. Let the loaves cool completely before removing from the pan.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The loaves will keep at room temperature for 3 days without frosting, or 1 day with frosting. I usually bake the two larger loaves and once they have cooled I will slice them up and freeze them individually. This way I can grab one out of the freezer in the morning and put it in my lunch, then by lunchtime it is unfrozen and ready to eat!

I hope you give this recipe a try! Enjoy!

I would also recomend purchasing the Duchess cookbook, it is expensive, but full of great recipies!

Buy the cookbook here!

 

Leave a Reply

