Christmas Crazy

20151222_174321_resized 20151225_193936_resized 20151227_112032_resized 20160102_164237_resized

Being a part of the Baking Program at Nait provided me with tons of ideas for Christmas baking and I must admit, I went a little overboard. Not only would I be supplying dessert for my families celebration, I also had to provide for my friends Christmas party. So I baked, and baked, and baked some more.  I spent days in my tiny kitchen, bringing my tv along with me to multitask. Blisters formed from rolling out so much pie dough, the two freezers were full, there was no room left in the house for anything more. But cookies were made, squares were baked and eventually we were so overwhelmed with dessert, I was forced to hand out “doggie bags”.  Every family member took a plate full and all my friends went home with treats galore. You see, after spending 5 hours a day, 4 days a week, in the bakery at school for 4 months, it was incredibly strange to do nothing during Christmas break.  So of course, I had to get back in the kitchen.  I love what I do, it’s my passion and it both entertains and calms me.  I get so inspired and cant seem to contain myself.  Testing new formulas and making the appropriate alterations is what being a baker is all about.  Regardless of how simple or incredibly complicated a recipe is, it can always be a new learning opportunity and a chance to further my experience and knowledge of Baking and Pastry.  I may have over done it, but I challenged myself to produce not just quality product, but also in larger quantities.  At this point I can almost guarantee my next Christmas will be just as insane .

Leave a Reply

