The Sweet Taste of Home

Growing up, my siblings and I were lactose intolerant so desserts and baked goods were challenging to have because a lot have lactose in some form in them. My mom found many ways around this, one of my favorite and the most memorable is a dessert she likes to call apple tapioca. I like to make this dessert when I feeling a little home sick and needing some comfort food. It is nice to eat when it is warm so perfect for a cold, gloomy day like today for example.

The recipe itself is very easy to make

3 cups of any apple of your choosing

¼ cup of brown sugar

Peel, core and cut the apples, then place in a greased or  not greased baking dish (doesn’t make too much difference, greased makes it a little easier to clean in the end) then sprinkle the brown sugar on top. Bake at 375°F for 15 minutes or until the apples are tender.

IMG_20160324_182123355

While this is baking, mix in a bowl:

¾ cup of brown sugar

1 tsp of cinnamon

2 ½ cups of warm water (make sure water is warm if using a glass baking dish)

½ cup of raisins (optional)

⅓ cup of tapioca (not the minute or tiny cut, the small balls)

1-2 tbsp of lemon juice

IMG_20160324_182946984.jpgIMG_20160324_183159289.jpg

Once the apples are soft, carefully and slowly pour this mixture into the baking dishes. Make sure you do it slowly and carefully because if the baking dish is glass the difference in temperatures between the dish and the mixture could cause the dish to shatter, hence having warm water to lessen this chance. Stir well. Bake another 20-30 minutes or until nice and thick and the tapioca is translucent. May take longer; just keep an eye on it. Stir a couple times while it bakes.

IMG_20160324_184403337.jpg   After adding the mixture

IMG_20160324_191757469.jpg  Done baking

My siblings and I ate this dessert by the bucket load when we were growing up. This was also possible because I got the pleasure of growing up in BC and we had a family friend that owned an apple orchard so we never had a shortage of apple hence never had a shortage on this delicious dessert. As time went on and my lactose intolerance decreased, we discovered that it is very tasty to eat warm with some ice cream served over top or some heavy cream. It adds a nice creaminess to the dish, although it is still very good on its own.

This recipe has been passed down from generation to generation, the origin of this recipe is now unknown and shall be hopefully be passed down a few more generations. I like to think of this recipe as family recipe, this recipe has been served at many different family events. When my grandma makes this dish, she likes to add raisins to, I have never liked raisins in it so I would always pick the raisins out of my bowl, so would my siblings. I hope that others enjoy this recipe as much I do 🙂

By: Talia Bernath

 

Leave a Reply

